The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this the author is reviewing about the declining sales of the radio station by different means. But the reasoning for the switching of the format does not seem very convincing.

Initially, the author is talking about switching the format to attract more number of listeners. He should have evaluated why the current format is not successful rather than completely switching to a new one. It is like escaping from the problem rather than facing it.

Then he says that the number is declining even though the population of the area is increasing. And that too with the increase of elderly population. The author at this point is assuming that the elderly population is less inclined to the kind of music the radio station prefers. It may not be the case. Inversely, the elderly crowd may actually be fond of music but are less inclined to the station due to the quality of music the station streams or the way that the station presents its stuff. Blaming the elderly population for their failure does not seem appropriate. Also, no survey has been taken to know the feedback from their listeners so as to why the station is failing.

The author is suggesting to switch to a new format but is reluctant to do so because of the local sales of the records. The sales of the records can be affected due to multiple reasons like lack of quality music, switching to an entirely new mode of entertainment be it concerts, shows, etc. Sales of records don’t reflect the taste of music or the attraction of the listeners towards it.

Next, the author is focussing to shift to a news and talk show format but he fails to reason it as well. There is no evidence that the new format is successful as expected. Along with it, the author considers their crowd to be a lot disinterested in music.

The argument presented by the author is not at all convincing and has a weaker base to it due to lack of facts and figures which would have strengthened his/her arguments.