The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of

video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at

Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising

our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown

Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than

9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years

ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering

great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine

Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to

decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain

how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the given memorandum presented by Movies Galore owner has concluded that the operational changes which were made in another of their store will help in improving the profit of the rest of the Movie Galore's video rental stores. Although, it appears that this strategy might work in reducing the loss incurred by the video store but this argument needs to provide answers to some of the queries to corroborate this.

The author has assumed that the operational changes implemented by one of the stores will have the same impact on rest of the stores. It is plausible that changes which worked for one would not work for the other. Moreover, there is no data regarding the profit earned by the downtown store after implementation of these changes. Giving information only about decreasing operational expenses cannot help to bolster that these change will lead to profit. The results of the changes should be presented here in order to discuss how much have these changes made an impact on the profit of the store. Once the results are provided we will be in a better position to analyse the effects of these changes.

It has been mentioned that the store at downtown closed at 6:00 pm rather that 9:00 pm and the same should be implemented by Movies Galore store. The operational timings of both the stores should be given here in order to understand which store works for how many hours. It is a possibility that the customers prefer to come to the Movies Galore store at night time. So, closing the store at 6:00 would lead to loss rather than profit. Both of the store's preference of customers and their frequency should be presented in the argument to help in understanding that replication of the timings will lead to profit.

Moreover, the elimination of movies which have been released five years ago can in fact lead to loss of customer base. For example, there are some people who are fond of old classics and may be they go to Movies Galore just because of getting these movies. Now, if these movies are not made available they would stop coming to the store which will lead to loss. Hence, it should be presented in the argument what kind of movies both of the video stores' customers generally rent. According to the results of these study, changes should be implemented.

From the above statements, it is evident that there are many questions which are left unanswered by this argument. The answers to all these questions would make this argument a valid one which is not just based on erroneous assumptions.