The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company, the author of the memo assumes that company does not have to build additional power plants because of energy conserving trend from the surveys, new effective machines and new available technologies. The author’s assumptions seem convincing at first, however, its weakness lead me to question the credibility of the author’s decision

First, the assumption about the recent surveys should be proved. the author asserted that the surveys imply that home owners’ eagnerness to conserve energy and advertised home appliances are effective that it would curtail the energy requirement almost twice than decade ago. It is possible it would decrease by twice but it might be too marginal rate that it could not make any changes. Even the decrease is effective, we should know that home owners eagerness does not mean the actual action in reducing energy and many home appliances which is on marketing also does not mean that they are distributed to every home owners. It is too hasty to judge only based on the surveys and trends.

Second, the author argues that new technologies are already available enough to reduce energy through improving home insulation and passive solar heating pannels. It is true that those systems help to preserve more energy but, however, as the author mentioned it only diminish the total demand for electricity slightly. If those system is effective that create remarkable chages, it will took over a year to install those energy conserving systems to each home. Thus, the author should consider more deeply about his assumptions.

Lastly, the power company should build or repair their generating plants, the author decided too hastly by depending on their superficial data of energy demand. There three energy plants have been operating for over twenty years that they might need replacement or, at least, repair. It is possible that the plants are already ramshackle that it might cause energy problem soon. If one of the plants get down without any extra plant, It will be too late to solve the problem when it already happened, it is almost impossible to meet energy demand with only 2 old plants. Therefore, the author should give more strong assumptions about their plants.

In summary, the authors assumptions are weak and unconvincing in many grounds. To bolster the presumptions, the author should consider more deeply about the factors that I mentioned above, survey results, new technologies application and the age of 3 plants.