The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author suggests that building a new store in Plainsville based on the past successful experience on the region where people are health conscious, and because Plainsville health club and running shoes store has become successful than ever. however, the argument is plagued with a number of skewed assumptions.

The author argues that previous successful experience on the area where people are highly caring about the health, so he new store is going to be successful. The assumption here is that people in Plainsville are health conscious and also willing to buy health food. This could be true if the background and the condition of Plainsville matches previous successful store place. however, it could be a total different story if their incoming or salary are pretty lower than average. people in Plainsville probably are barely to live on with their meager salary, they care about the health, but do not have capacity to buy health products, so they like to run with running shoes instead and that save a lot of money. The author has to address the assumption to make the argument more cogent.

Besides, the author also mentions that running shoes sold very well in and insinuates that the health store would be promising. The assumption could be correct if people who love exercise also want to buy health food. Still, another case would be that they are just fans of running, not for health. In other words, they run because of interest or habits not taking the health as a primary reason. Therefore, even the health store is newly established, they are not going to shop. Thus, the author has to handle with the assumption to strength the idea.

Additionally, the author implies that the new building store is going to be successful because the local health club’s business is excellent and the class are always fully booked. The assumption here is that people who love gym exercise also want to buy health food as well. it could be certainly true if people are wealth and eager to make a lots of effort taking care their health. Nevertheless, there could be another situation that residents would like to seek for natural health like exercise and they would not prefer to buy health supplement. because they believe naturally health is more important than just eating artificial vitamin or health food, they don’t want to buy the health food at all.

In conclusion, the author has to deal with the skewed assumptions mention above to make the argument more persuasive.