The following appeared on the Mozart School of Music Web site.

"The Mozart School of Music should be the first choice for parents considering enrolling their child in music lessons. First of all, the Mozart School welcomes youngsters at all ability and age levels; there is no audition to attend the school. Second, the school offers instruction in nearly all musical instruments as well a wide range of styles and genres from classical to rock. Third, the faculty includes some of the most distinguished musicians in the area. Finally, many Mozart graduates have gone on to become well-known and highly paid professional musicians."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument claims that the Mozart School of Music should be the primary place where parents consider their child enrolling in music lessons. There are several reasons why Mozart School of music is best: they welcomes younger people at all ability, offers most musical instruments, some faculty members are distinguished musicians in the area, and many Mozart graduates had become famous and highly paid professional musicians. It seems very logical at first glance, but some assertion makes argument invalid as persuasive.

First and foremost, Mozart School of Music welcomes youngsters at all ability and age level. It implies that all ability are more likely to be welcomed by Mozart Schools of Music. However, since they showed that there was no audition to attend the schools, school does not know who is eligible to do classics or who is eligible at rock. There should be specific reasons that how school cope with youngsters at all ability.

Secondly, some faculty members are most distinguished musicians in the area. The writer does not substantiate that if distinguished musicians are good at his area, then he will be the best at teaching. We do not know what area does distinguished musician best at and we do not know how well he teaches by only looking at his career.

Lastly, this argument only showed Mozart graduates will be famous and highly paid professional musicians, but author did not show the evidence that support the idea as well as the definition of ‘many.’ When it talks about many graduates, how many people are having high payment, and how many graduates are going to be famous? There should be specific examples such as Mozart graduates are 200 people and about eighty-five percent of graduates have high payment.

In conclusion, argument is not all wrong from the vision that parents should consider the Mozart School of Music first. However, if author considers and substantiates about unproven assumptions and evidences, the argument will be more likely tenable and valid persuasion.