The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the article claims that the advertising firms should only hire employees who need less than six hours of sleep, and as an evidence, suggests a result of a recent study conducted. However, the article is rife with holes and assumptions, which should be eliminated for the author to maintain his/her claim. Such flaws would be discussed with further details below.

First of all, the author assumes that the workers must have slept as usual during the study and also assumes that those who slept less are leading the firm to success. However, first, the author needs to clarify the duration of the study conducted. If the study was held only for a few days, then the result would be unreliable. There is a possibility that the executives slept much less than their former nights due to having extensive amount of work only during those few days. Maybe the firm was going through a crisis when the study was being held and required all the workers to be working in a lucubrate way in order to survive such catastrophe. Moreover, those who are sleeping less than six hours may not be the ones who are leading the firm to success. Maybe executives who slept much more than six hours had a higher thinking ability and finished the work much more efficiently than those who slept less. They might be the ones who helped the firm to succeed.

Furthermore, the author makes a haste generalization that due the results shown in Mentian, the same alteration should be applied to other businesses. However, the general types of work may differ in various ways throughout the business firms. Maybe needing employees who sleep less than six hours is because the usual works that need to be done in Mentian requires extensive amount of time and less amount of thinking. If much more thinking was required, then lack of sleep would have inhibited the executives to think properly, leading to increased amount of failures. Works that require much more thinking may be the general types of work in other firms, which means employees should have enough sleep, unlike Mentian.

Last but not least, maybe Mentian is a newly founded advertising business because employees sleeping less than six hours may cause sleep deprivation which only shows a temporal growth spurt. Having lack of sleep for only a few days may be a evanescent solution to fast growth. However, if this continues for more than a week, the employees may face serious sleep deprivation and would have a hard time concentrating for longer periods, leading to increase in failures as time passes by. Also, they would have shorter life span and would have to retire after ten years. If so, then the firm would have to continuously hire new executives, which requires senior executives spending time and effort on educating the novices instead of working on their actual responsibilities.

To sum up, even though the author of the article's claim seems plausible, through thorough investigation and reading the article from various points of view, it is confirmed that the author's claim does not hold a clear warrant. In order for the author to maintain his/her claim, he/she would have eliminate the defects of making haste assumptions, haste generalizations, and providing lack of substantial information on the result of the study.