The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Due to a recent survey that the business whose executives sleep less than 6 hours have higher profits, the author contends that in any fields, executives should diminish their time for rest. While the argument is seemingly reasonable to some extents, the author should reassess the validity of assumption to establish strongly.

First of all, the author assumes nearly 300 executives really no more than 6 hours of sleep. However, it is necessary for him or her to evaluate the assumption. It is possible that some interviewers who would like to show that they are hard workings and devote much effort and time into working, deliberately tell a lie that they only sleep less than 6 hours. Their attempts to use such ingenuous answer to establish a reliable and industrious symbol to their superiors. In fact, it is more likely that whenever they felt exhausted, they would go to bed as early as they can. If the author can eliminate such possibility, the conclusion might be more persuasive.

Apart from that, in the letter, the author attributes all the credits, such as profit, growth and celebrated reputation, to executives. Nevertheless, he or she have to reexamine such assume. In my opinion, even if the executives really have rest less than 6 hours, we could not regard all the accomplishments as executives' efforts. To run a famous corporation successfully, each employee would be a determinant, with indispensable diligent hard working. Even though the executives must be a bunch of people who are the soul of a company, other factors tie more tightly with companies' characteristics. Therefore, this assumption made by the author is tenuous to his or her conclusion.

Finally, besides the opinions stated above, the letter argues that, because of the arguably success in advertising field, this conclusion can be suitable to other industries. Nonetheless, the author should consider preciseness of such argument. While the assumption can be cited as a sound evidence in advertising, there are hundreds of other areas strikingly different from advertising industry. To be more specific, as a leader of a sport team, in preparation for the decisive game of next day, he has to have a nice sleep, refreshing himself in order to modulate body condition. Clearly, different industries have highly divergent requirements to executives. If the author does not reexamine the assumption, it would still be powerless.