It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Some people contend that the only way of defining ourselves is to contact with outside, especially with social cliques, in which people are given the specific status that makes everyone distinctive. However, I hold the opposite view that our identification derives internally.

Admittedly, it's generally acknowledged that social groups is conducive to give people an identity. To be more specific, most of juveniles' role in this society are students, thus such identification represents a group of people who are absorbing knowledge and immature more or less. Also, the movie stars are respected by thousands of people, so their identification is stardom. No matter what role one is playing, all of them have their own identities coming from society.

However, such identities are superficial and inaccurate, when diverse stages of life are taken into consideration. For a person living in this world, he/she has totally divergent identities in different stages of life. He would be a student at the age ranging from 6-18, while when he steps into society, he would be a man who have to take respond for more things. In the end, he would turn into an old man without vigor, spending his declining years with family. Therefore, for a person, his identification is changing as his age.

Apart from that, even at one life stage, it is likely that the identification given by society is unnecessarily true. This is because, nowadays, people are more interesting in one’s sensational part than other characters. While, the facts of some obtrusive characteristics would be likely contorted by people. Michael Jackson was one of the most famous singers all around the world, nevertheless he was accused of the plastic surgery by thousands of American black men who blindly thought Michael was shame of his identity as a black. MJ's scandal was so sensational that many people did not care about his philanthropic contribution as a humanitarian that actually saved myriad people's life. His news hit the headlines of newspaper, during which he was defined as a negative presentative by society. However, from the present perspective, the accusations were unreal and he should be respected by people for his tremendous contribution in the field of music and beneficence. The idea of social groups defining us is facile.

Last but not least, in my opinion, people's identification is defined by thoughts. The identification consists of reviews for one's character and behaviors and the thoughts always dominate such evaluations. Therefore, it is the thoughts that are conducive for the formation of identification to everyone. Only people have their own thoughts, even though without outside world, they are capable of distinguishing themselves from others, because of the behaviors and personality belonging to them. To be more specific, when one is living solitary life, segregating himself from society, such as a monk, he still have an identification in this world, owing this ideas and thoughts which cannot be obliterated by not contacting with outside.

In a nutshell, it is obvious that real identification derives from people's thoughts instead of the connection with social group that are always facile.