The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author's claim that the number of sleeping hours is inversely proportional lacks proper proofs and evidences. There are many loop holes which definitely has to be addressed before stating the conclusion. No relation can be drawn between the statements to accept the conclusion. Hence this argument is lacking proper proof and is inherently flawed.

First of all, the author is claiming that the sleeping hours is inversely proportional to the profit made by the firms. This statement can be repudiated as there is no relation between the sleeping hours and the success of a firm. Moreover the firm is not run by a single executive. For a firm to be successful, every person in that firm holds the responsibility. Hence it cannot be concluded that if an executive sleeps for less hours is able to make the firm see success.

Secondly, the sleep hours varies from one person to another person. It is also likely that people with good sleep, may be more than six hours, are likely to work effectively in their diurnal time. If there is less sleep, it is also likely that the efficiency of an executive may debilitate. Hence, the number of sleeping hours of a person cannot be fixed as six or less than six for the successful firm. Due to this loop hole, it cannot be concluded that the people who are having six or less than six hours of sleep is able to find success.

Thirdly, the author is stating a strategy, that the business firm has to intake the people who are having sleep hours less than six hours. This makes no sense. The company's strategy should be such that they have to intake the people who are having good business acumen and mindful in all perspectives. Instead, the the author is claiming that the number of sleeping hours of an interviewee has to be considered. This seems facile. This cannot be counted for the firm's prosperity.

Thus, in total, the authors claims and arguments lacks proper evidence to accept the position of statements. Still more research and study has to be made to state the conclusions.