The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author's claim insisting on cooperation rather competition in molding young people to become leader is quiet debatable. We all know that today's young people are our future citizens. They are the citizens who are our future leaders to rule the nations. For such citizens, it is necessary to make them learn the sense of cooperation rather than competition. Thus, I totally agree with the author's position of statement.

The young citizens, are precious and are to be reared with good sense of cooperation. This can be done through good education form good institutions. The students in their learning age should be made known the distinction of what is cooperation and competition. This helps them to cultivate the habit of cooperation. In many countries such as England, India, such education systems are followed, where cooperation sense of education are stressed and the students grow up with that sense of knowledge. The cooperation sense of education brings the sense of harmony and this harmony will draw everyone in harmony, which will in turn makes the nation live a immaculate utopia. Hence, making the students learn the sense of cooperation is good to their respective nations.

There is one more goodness to talk about the sense of cooperation. The cooperation sense also brings the egalitarian attitude. This attitude is one of the vital quality a leader has to have. Only with this attitude a good leader may it be in any field, say government or in industry, can take the system to reach its respective goal. The sense of cooperation brings the sense of impartiality. It also brings the quality of understanding. One more leader quality is to pay the attentions of his or her retinue, for their suggestions and plans. This quality makes a good leader. Thus, I believe the sense of cooperation brings several advantages to a person and also helps to develops ones persona.

Although, it is said that cooperation brings greater advantage, there should also be some percentage of competition. Though the competition sense brings the pugnacious attitude in everyone at its height, it urges oneself to reach the goal. For instance, among the students, if there is no competition to secure good scores in their exams, the purpose of keeping the examinations becomes questionable. Hence, there should be sense of competition but it should be a healthy competition.

Thus, in a nutshell, instilling the sense of cooperation should be stressed rather than sense of competition, to make them good citizen and in turn good of a mankind.