The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author undergirded his/her argument about prosperity of business with the study conducted upon 300 executives and correlated their rate of sleep per night with the success of the business. While the argument looks quite exciting, it leaves several holes unfilled and questions unanswered.

Citing the study, the author concluded that the average rate of sleep per night of a successful business' executives is 6 hours. But, there is no mention of the counting of the men and women studied. Perhaps the most of the executives studied were women, and due to their natural tendency, they sleep 6 hours a day. In that case , the sleep rate is not the factor affecting the success. Even if we assume that the mentioned study was taken by meticulous calculation of ratio of men and women, the age factor could also be another factor affecting the sleep rate. In that case , the age would become the limiting factor for the businesses.

Secondly, there was no sign of globalization of the study present in the author's argument. Perhaps the executives studied were from a certain area of the world, where due to whether conditions, the need of sleep could be fulfilled by sleeping 6 hours, and hence, cannot be the general case universally. Considering this unstated assumptions, argument seems suspicious of exaggerating the study he used to back the argument.

Additionally, one might suspect of the options given to the humans under examination. Quite possibly the question was asked with only two options to tick due to general perception of sleep rate: less than 6 or exactly 6 , which left the folks with greater than 6 hours unattempted.

Apart of sleep rate, the internal environment and facilities provided by the successful firms can be a factor leading to prosperity of the company, and author failed to give any such example of success in a harsh environment. If examined properly, the flexible environment of the firm might have been the core reason behind the success.

Hence, it is no doubt doctor's prescription to sleep at least 6 hours a day, but author is failed to provide strong reasons to back his argument, and consequently the argument cannot be acted upon untill and unless these assumptions should be properly stated and answered.