A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

The argument is based on the assumption that the chemicals found in tested pet food are approved to be used in pet food.With this assumption argument also assumed several other unstated factors. Like, it is clear that the chemicals were approved, but argument did not give any statement about the quality of chemicals and other roots found in the food.It might be possible that the the chemicals used were low quality, or more worse were expired. And the authority did not mention anything about the quality. Hence, without stating anything about the quality of ingredients used in making of pet food, argument looks absurd.

Even if we assumed that the quality of chemicals used was also good, argument did not mention anything about the environment and surroundings of the plants supposed to make these foods. Perhaps the conditions of the plants and machinery used to make those foods were not of approved quality, and hence should be investigated. Without further investigation of the environment and cleanliness of the place, the argument does not seems to satisfy the people petting the animals.

It is also possible that the procedure of making the food was not approved by the food authority. Like, if certain should be heated to certain before mixing in the final product, and the company's heater was not to that certain temperature, which causes the symptoms mentioned in the argument. Or perhaps, the roots used in the food was not cleaned properly. So, to make it a logical statement, authority should mention the satisfactory investigation of the overall procedure of making the food.

However, the argument mention a little about complaints. Perhaps the complaints received was the repeated complaints from a certain area, where due to viral, pets were ill. In these circumstances, the whole procedure done by the company was unnecessary and humorous.

On the basis of above discussion, the argument is found guilty of making several unstated assumptions and leaving several questions unanswered, and hence is incomplete.