An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

In the given argument the author wrote about the solution to vitamin A deficiency in the people living in an area named Tagus, who are poor in wealth, and are used to of taking millet. The solution discussed was a breed of millet which is high in vitamin A but is a costly solution, and to combat the cost of farming breed of this millet, farmer will be given subsidies from the government of Tagus. While the argument and the solution posit look quite exciting but leaves several questions unanswered and having several fallacies discussed below.

First of all, the author mentioned that the people of Tagus are deficient in vitamin A. The author does not mention the number or percentage of people having this deficiency. Perhaps only a small amount of people are facing this deficiency which is due to their genetics. To beat this small amount of patients, producing and farming a the given breed on a national level does not seem reasonable. And if they are facing this illness due to their gene, then giving them vitamin A supplements would not resolve the issue. Hence, to make the argument pragmatic, the author should mention the number of patients having vitamin A deficiency and the reason of this illness.

Secondly, the author did not mention any review report of the residents of Tagus. Perhaps the new millet produced would not have a good taste, and people refuse to take that new one and continue to having previously producing millet as their food. In that situation the overall activity from the efforts of international development organization to the field farmer's hard work would fail. And as the author did not mention any clue of public opinion on this breed, the whole argument looks absurd and quixotic.

Lastly, the argument neither give any hint about the amount of subsidy that would be given to the farmers, nor mention the cost of the new breed. Perhaps the given solution was as much costly as farmers could not farm them even after getting subsidies from the government. And due to the lack of resources, farmers continue to farm and produce the previously famous breed of millet. Thus, author of the argument should have mentioned the cost analysis to make the argument rational.

In short, on the basis of above fallacies and unanswered questions, we are concluding that the argument discussed is incomplete and fail to give the answers to the aforementioned questions posed.