Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

To research and resolve the mysteries of the unknowns of a particular field is the dream and aim of every researcher or PhD student. But with scattered mind no researcher could see his/her dream come true. Therefore, researchers should intense their research to those fields in which they are sure to find practical applications.

Intense research in a particular field would result in a better solution. Like if a scientist research haphazardly, he might never get the required consequences. For example, if a PhD student researching in embedded systems and Artificial intelligence for the medical devices would rather focus on bitcoin and blockchain technology in spite of doing intensified research in the aforementioned areas, he will not complete his degree on time and remain entangled in resolving bitcoin mystery. The case is same if the physician investigating black holes or Einstein theory of relativity would focus on chemical bonding or even more worse in integrated chips. Therefore, researchers would not get anything useful for their results if they scatter their research to other areas.

Secondly, if the enthusiast does focused work, he will complete his research in a shorter time. Like the previously mentioned physician would get numerous beneficial knowledge if he focus on irrelevant subjects, but he would not get anything applicable to his subjects and the time would also be wasted. However, if he focus his research to areas he expected to get the applicable results, he will complete his work efficiently in a lesser time. So, researchers should focus on the areas applicable to his findings if he wanted complete his work on atleast time.

However, expectations can go wrong. If the researcher would focus in a wrong direction then the results will be worse than expected and umpteen amount of time will be wasted. So, researcher should consider this also if he is not damn sure about the consequences or know nothing about how to start or work for his research.

In short, intensified and focused work have better consequences if scientist or researcher can expect the consequences beforehand.