The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mention advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given article author suggested to hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep as per result found in a study. In the study researcher analyse the relation between amount of sleep needed to executive and success of firm. The author could bring more witness about this assumption to convince the readers about the correlation between these variable.

Furthermore, the research explained that the company's profit is depend on the executives sleeping hours. How is it possible? Because everyone has their sleeping pattern and sleep is important for brain. There are many factors which inclusively decide the firm’s profit or loss such as product quality, market situation, demands, structure of firm and many more. So we cannot end that by selecting the executives who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night our firm become most successful one.

Additionally, the author talked about an advertising firm and in such firms creativity in employees is most important factor. A person has creativity but he sleeps for more than 6 hours per night than he is the proper for the firm or not? The sleep is not more important for any job only the qualities and work speaks aloud. As the work profile the employee should have personality which helps to firm more. So the given argument becomes weak at this point.

One more point, generally the science explain that when our brain needs to take rest and repair our damage nervous then our brain release dopamine hormone which make us sleep. It tells us that the sleep plays the vital role in our daily routine. It improves our daily routine work and makes us energetic. The sleeping pattern and sleeping hours depends on each person. On the basis of science we can understand that sleeping time is not important but yes it is right the employee should take proper sleep so he should be energetic during office hours.

Finally, on the basis of aforementioned discussion the argument is weaken and the researcher has to redesign the structure of research.