An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia—the scent of lavender flowers—has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the given argument the writer talks about remedy for insomnia, which is a state of sleeplessness. The writer shows supporting studies to prove their stance but there are loopholes which makes it weaken. The research was done under controlled conditions to prove that lavender cures the insomnia but at the end it seems that lavender is just displacement of medication. There are points indicate the weaker side of the given argument.

Moreover, the studies concluded that lavender cure insomnia within short period of time but there is another significant conclusion which shows that lavender is just a displacement of medication not cure it completely. In three weeks process firstly the researcher gives medication and lavender pillow and they slept soundly, then in second week only lavender pillow had been given and disturbances noticed in the sleep. After at the end in third week with only lavender pillow they slept soundly. This is called gradual shifting of attention from medication to lavender pillow, but it does not indicate that insomnia patients will sleep calmly without lavender pillow.

Furthermore, there are two more points, first of them is the supporting study of argument done on 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia which is very small sample to generalize the results. Secondly, the three weeks observation did in controlled room and its after effects were not discussed. It is not clearly mentioned whether the volunteers keep practicing lavender pillow or they started medication. The researcher did hurry to jump to the conclusion.

Finally, the research has done under controlled conditions in a room where temperature, ambiance, weather, presence of bugs, lights and others keep constant to get better results. It is not necessary that all sufferer of insomnia can successfully maintain these variables constant. It may be possible that after three weeks voluntaries need medication again to sleep. There is no evidence of post conditions of volunteers which weaken the given argument. To increase the validity of research one should keep observation on after effects of experiment.

To sum up, according to the above information, the argument would be specious. To appraise the argument fairly, the author should provide more detailed evidence to bolster the argument.