The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the author concludes that companies should only hire people who just need to sleep for less than six hours. To bolster the argument, the author points out that a recent study shows there is a connection between sleeping hours and being a success. The author also falsely assumes that executives who sleep less than six hours would earn more money and growth rapidly. The author’s argument is problematic and untenable.

The first major problem is that the author states the assumption that people’s hours of sleeping have connected to their successes in the company. The study just asked 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives, but it could not be convincible to state that it can represent the whole population of advertising industry. There are some employees who could become executives since they maintain six hours or more sleeping time, which is a healthy lifestyle for people to accumulate enough energy to do better work. Even though all employees in the advertising industry are facing the same situation, it might not trustworthy to say that all other industries are in the same situation as well. Some other occupations such as civil servants might have enough time to sleep every day. Therefore, the assumption derived from the study is tenuous since its sample size does not provide credible evidence to conclude that there’s a connection between success and hours of sleep.

Another problem is that the author speciously inserts the cause-and-effect situation, he claims that executives who sleep less than six hours would have higher profit and growth rapidly in the industry, so the company should hire people who sleep less than six hours. There is no direct causal relationships between hours of sleeping and earn more money. Sometimes, some executives who are not participating in the core program in a company might have enough time to sleep more than six hours per day, yet it’s disputable to conclude that they do not gain more money. Even if it is true that executives who earn more money would sleep less, it would not be decisive to say that a business should only employ people who sleep less. Other business such as building workers, if they do not have enough sleep, they would not maintain enough energy to build buildings or they could even in danger if they do not have good rests. Thus, the author’s assumption about the causality of sleeping time and success in business is not credible, it needs more evidence to support the argument.

In conclusion, the assumption made by the author is unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen it, the author must demonstrate that the study conducted with a large sample size; the author must also provide enough evidence to show the causal relationship between hours of sleeping and success in companies.