The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this article of a business magazine, the author recommends that if a company wants to thrive, it should hire people who only sleep less than six hours per night according to a survey on 300 advertising executives. Plausible as this recommendation seems to be, the author relies on three unwarranted assumptions, which, if not substantiated, would dramatically reduce the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the author presumes, without justification, that there is a causal relationship between fewer sleep hours and success in the career. this assumption based on the survey which shows that executives with less than six hours’ sleep had higher profits margins and faster growth of their companies. However, there could be other factors that contribute to their success in firms rather than the less sleep. For example, these executives might have a sensitive smell and a blanket of strategies to prosper their companies, such as a good strategy for marketing, a well-planned schedule, or an attracting original idea, which leads to a thrive in their firms. if any of these scenarios has merit, then this assumption may not hold water.

Secondly, the author further assumes, the answers provided by the executives could accurately reflect their sleeping habits and lifestyles. Yet this essay does not show what kind of questions were asked by the researchers or whether the respondents were telling the truth. it is possible that the questions were biased and therefore induced the respondents to give the answer in ways that did not accurately reveal their authentic sleeping patterns. In the meantime, the reviewers might want to impress others when answering the questions, therefore they provided some exaggerate answers. if either of these circumstances is true, then the assumption is dramatically weakened.

Finally, even assuming less sleep of executives could account for the faster growth in advertisement firms, the author prematurely assumes that all companies, no matter what industries they are, should follow such rule. Nevertheless, while this survey was just based on a single industry and a specific group of people (namely executives), it is unwarranted to assume this result can be applied more broadly. Maybe some advertisement projects have to work at night, and thus these faculties including executives are essentially obligated to sacrifice their sleeping time to finish their programs. if such scenario has merit, it is unreasonable to require the employees in other industries whose work time is in the daytime to follow the same schedule. this may bot yield a satisfying result.

Overall, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. if the author is able to provide more information, it is possible to fully evaluate the soundness of the recommendation that companies should hire people with less sleep hours.