The following appeared as part of a business plan developed by the manager of the Rialto Movie Theater.

"Despite its downtown location, the Rialto Movie Theater, a local institution for five decades, must make big changes or close its doors forever. It should follow the example of the new Apex Theater in the mall outside of town. When the Apex opened last year, it featured a video arcade, plush carpeting and seats, and a state-of-the-art sound system. Furthermore, in a recent survey, over 85 percent of respondents reported that the high price of newly released movies prevents them from going to the movies more than five times per year. Thus, if the Rialto intends to hold on to its share of a decreasing pool of moviegoers, it must offer the same features as Apex."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument appears to be sound at the first glance. However, as more light is shed on the issue and more detailed factors are conceived, it is easy to see that the argument suffers from several grave fallacies in its assumption as well as commits a false analogy. The comparative study based on another theater with the present one cannot be taken as a suitable one to arrive at a proper decision.

Firstly, the reason behind the fall of Rialto movie theater is not mentioned clearly in the business plan. Since it is situated in downtown for a period of five decades, a good number indeed, a plausible solution could be arrived only if the details of the theatre are provided in detail. Also, it is mentioned that the apex theatre featured a video arcade, plush carpeting and seats, and a state-of-the-art sound system. Does it imply that the theatre under study lacked the above features and resources? if so, then how did it sustain for the myriad number of years? Was it desolate with no movie goers or people did not visit due to a proper lack of infrastructure? The above questions need to be answered to arrive at a proper solution to the problem mentioned in the passage.

Secondly, it has been noted that, in the apex theatre, in a recent survey, over 85 percent of respondents reported that the high price of newly released movies prevents them from going to the movies more than five times per year. The use of statistics is a shaky way of bolstering an already decent argument. if this is the case, then how can the manager be assured that moviegoers will come in more numbers to his theatre in large numbers? As a comparison has been made, do they intend to decrease the price of the tickets? further, a decrease in cost and lack of structure and facilities will not attract moviegoers as it is very important to maintain the structure for a good utilization.

Moreover, what is the guarantee that, with a posh attractive setup and an audio video system, more people will visit the place? The argument fails to address this issue which makes it unsound. Instead of choosing the same features offered by another theatre, the manager could think out of the box to come up with creative ideas like opening a cafeteria or play areas for kids, which could increase the moviegoers. As there is no evidence mentioned regarding the profit of apex theatre or the number of moviegoers, a proper conclusion or a solution cannot be offered based on the given data.

thus, it can be reiterated that, comparisons made blindly could only yield fatal results which could further decrease the chances of a good fortune. Before any final decisions are made, much work is left for the arguer to do to make his/her argument more logical and cogent. A comparative study could prove futile if the advantageous and disadvantageous are not measured properly which could only lead to further complications. thus, a careful study and examination is required to proceed further in implementing the ideas which would be considered a cliché’ rather than a fruitful one.