The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

The argument is made that the students of a college are made to work for 8 hours every month for 9 months for charities to produce charitable and well-rounded members of the society, without getting paid. This statement lacks encouragement. By showing them simplistic society driven words it is asking each student to work for 72 hours of their academic year without being paid. This would help the charity socities way more than the students gaining experience and making only one party beneficial in this task. The dean should have alloted specific credits that would make the students more enthusiastic and deterministic to work.

It is also not clear that how many local charities are present in the city. For example, usually local charities are from 4 to 5 in a ciy and the number of students in the college, adding both the undergraduate and graduate students is more than 5 thousand. If every student does 8 hours every month, i.e. 40,000 hours of work from that specific college only plus the staff working there for their livelihood. The charity groups do not require this much amount of work force to make their organizations work. This may only only lead to wastage of the energy's of the students.

A better idea would be to make a student society in the college and make it an extra curricular activity for the students to work in different charitable organizations. To make the students join it, the dean must lure them with extra credits that may add up to their main degree. This will attract the interested and working students while the students who are not interested would be utilizing that time to do some other productive work.

So in this way the societys can get their work done by utilizing the best of the students with good efficiency and students will also work with zeal rather than forcefully without any benfits for them.