The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument, the committee of the city of Calatreva concluded that they can reduce funding for education during the next decadesa and can aslo reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities, on the otherhand, they will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since they can expect the adult population of th city increase. However, the author supports his conclusion with three unfounded assumptions, if refuted, will dramatically undermine the persuasiveness of the argumnet. Therefore, before evaluating the argument, three pieces of evidence need to collect and analyze.

Firstly, the author assumes that the decline of birthrate in this year will remain same as that of last year, and there is no evidence regarding the birthrate of the years before last year. It is possible that the this year or the upcoming year the the birthrate will increase and as a result, afte four years or five years the number of students will also increase, so in those years there will need more money for the educational and recreational facilities for the children. It is also possible that the years before the last year the birthrate was higher and perhaps, the five years ago before the last year the birthrate of the city was double than the normal birthrate of the city, so half of birthrate before five years, does not mean that the birthrate is declining. If any of the cases is true, then the committee recommendation is not valid and, therefore, weaken the argument.

Secondly, it may possible that the number of students will decrease, but the author presumes without any evidence that there was sufficient funding for the education in previous years. However, this may not be true. It is possible that there was a scarcity of budget during the previous years in education, as a result of the declination of birthrate, in near future the number of students will increase in near futute. The existing budget in education and recreation may be perfect and without any deficiency. Therefore, reduction in budget in these field will not be good recommendation for city. If the case is true, then the argument will not hold the water.

Finally, the author presumes that the athletic fields and other recreational facilities are not used by the adults, but this may not be necessarily true. It is possible that the fields and recreational facilities are using by the adults. It is also possible that in the city there is already have suffiecnt facilities and program for the adults. Thus, further investment on those fields will not be and effective one. The auhor also assumes that the adult population will increase in next ten years without any evidence. It is possible that the deathrate of the adult is already higher and will be more in the upcoming year, so there is no possibilities of increase of adult population. If any of the cases is true, then the author recommendation will not be overly persuasive.

In conclusion, as it stands now, the conclusion relies on the three unwarranted assumptions and make the argumnet specious and untenable. Therefore, the author should provide additional evidence regarding the assumptions to make the argument reasonable and unassailable.