The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

From the summary of study stated above, Salicylates have lot of uses like preservative, flavouring agent, medicine and many more. From my opinion the summary has unstated evidences and hence it is flawed. The summary can be proved to be sound if the following three statements are addressed properly.

Firstly, Salicylates have been said to be used for more than a decade, then why Mentia citizens suffered headaches? In the summary it is stated that Salicylate prevents headaches and mundane consumption of this substance will reduce headache but then still citizens have headaches. Perhaps, Salicylate was not consumed at a particular proportion. Maybe, the substance had to be consumed at a particular level which varied for each person and thus resulting in some people having headaches. Thus there is no information on the quantity of usage to compare with one person to another person in the city.

Secondly, in the twenty year study, how far is the data reliable? Was the patients given only given products which had Salicylate? The argument suggests that patients were given Salicylate products on daily basis but there is no information about the patients whether they had severe or mild headaches. Perhaps, the patients didn’t have headache at all and had other symptoms like vomiting and stomach other than headache. Hence the data is not reliable to the consumption of salicylate. The decline may be due to unreliable patients who had no headaches but were diagnosed with other diseases.

Thirdly, Salicylate can also be used as a flavour agent, but what would be the flavour? Do people love its flavour? Are they willing to decline the use of products containing Salicylate due to their dislike of flavour or do they like it? Perhaps some people likes the flavour who might be the people who didn’t have headaches and hence the consumption among them increases whereas people having headaches detest the flavour. Perhaps it had a taste like lavender which triggered the patients and thus they started using Aspirin instead of Salicylate. Patients only consuming Aspirin might have improved health instead of Salicylate.

Thus the summary provided is flawed and more information is needed to confirm the improvement of patient’s health via headaches. If the author answers the above questions and provides evidences for the responses then the summary can be concluded as Salicylate, a chemical substance which can be used to prevent headaches.