The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states the strength of national borders as the sole reason for the rise or the fall of the autonomy of a country. This actually translates to how porous the national borders are and illegal immigrants who might trickle in. in case of relatively porous national borders are a cause of national threat to both the economy as well as the identity of a country. The argument is hugely flawed as there has been various assumptions which was considered which making such a claim.

Firstly, the autonomy of a country is defined as the right of any country to self rule without the influences of any external country. Illegal immigrants if any should be too small a concern for any country in terms of a threat to national identity and economy. True apparently it might seem the increased population would require increased amount of spending in medical facilities, increased accomodation expenses and also employment all of twhich has to be borne of by the state. But in the long run, it is a win win situation for both the immigrants as well as the country in overall.

Immigrants who have illegally trickled in can be utilised in the labour intensive works in the country as well as employed in various skills across various industries int the country. The increased cheap labour would help the country lessen its dependence on immigrant labour from other countries. This would do a whole lot of good to the economy as it would cost a lot less to the national exchequer.

In addition to it, these illegal immigrants on receiving proper training can go on to be popular and famous extrepreneurs and form huge business empires which can in trun generate huge amout of wealth and jobs for the citizens of the country. They can also be holding top positions of the already famous companies and institutions of the country and help it attain international recognition and status with their talent and hard work.

Illegal immigrants if nurtured properly can also be nurtured to be great sportspersons and with facilites and training, they can bring laurels to the country in various national and international sporting events across the world liek the world championships and the olympics. They can mould into great research fellows and make their fellow country men proud by making ground breaking discoveries. In such scenarios the national identity would be further enchanced in the global stage and thus it would be wrong to wrong to assume that the illegal immigrants would be a cause for worry in terms of national identity.

The entire argument is being too focussed on driving out the illegal immigrants but we tend to forget that they can be integrated into the social fabric of a country in a bit more humane manner and instead of being threats they might as well be jewels for the country as well as inspirational models for the generations to come. Hence we need to deal with them with care , lest they feel unwanted and oustracized and turn themselves to be social evils. The opportunities are endless and instead of focussing on efforts to drive the illegal immigrants back home, the countries and their administration should be optimistic in their approach.