The following is an excerpt from a speech given to the School Board about a change to the curriculum:

"Because the future will be dominated by technology, we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students. If our students take these classes, they’ll all be able to get high-paying programming jobs and lead fulfilling lives because software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries. Therefore, we must educate our students so they can secure these kinds of jobs. Even if they pursue other careers, programming will still benefit them, given that all industries are becoming more technological."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In a speech given to the School Board about the change in curriculum is based upon a current scenario where technology is dominating the world. In the Statement, the conclusion is based upon evaluation that School should include computer programming course for high school students because it will not only help them to secure as high paying jobs but also prove to be beneficial in other career prospects. Here, the Author has made several assumptions which has to evaluate to support the conclusion.

Firstly, the Author has mentioned the addition of a four-year computer programming course for high school students. Here, it has not been mentioned that will the student be able to handle such a long course of four years. School students already have lots of syllabus from history to science, from social study to physical education. Will students will easily be able to handle the course. As high school marks decide students future so a student has to get passed in each subject. They have to give equal attention to every course. Therefore, the question arises that Students who already has such a tight syllabus will easily handle the pressure of additional courses.

Secondly, the Author has made an assumption that if students take these classes, they will get a high paying jobs as software engineering and data scientist. Maybe in today’s world, software engineers and others in similar fields are earning huge and living a good life. But question aries that will every person having knowledge of programming is on the same level.It is obivious that if every person learns about coding then definitely competition to get a job will also increase and to secure such a good position, will become difficult. Therefore, it is not definite that every student who know computer programming get a high paying job.

Lastly, Author has assume that every student in high school, after having knowledge of computer programming will take an engineering job. Here, The author has failed to consider other subjects. Like, Will commerce students also have the same benefit as a science student. Well, Biology students will not get software engineer jobs. In conclusion, Author did consider that if students pursues another career, programming will still be beneficial. Why because industries is also upgrading with technology. What if a student purse law, or Economic? Will computer programming also prove to be beneficial to them also? Therefore, the Author has failed to consider several assumptions which make the statement full of logical fallacy