The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

There is always a choice when it comes to the food that we consume. We can choose between french fries or mashed potatoes to go along with our steak dinner. We can have coffee with milk, creamer, or 2% milk. The options and endless and it is typically personal preference on who wants what. In restaurants that serve breakfast, it is typically butter or margarine that is used for cooking or for buttering the toast and pancakes. According to the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants, customers typically don’t understand the differences between butter and margarine. There are many flaws in this argument along with other fallacies mentioned in his statement.

Recognized by the HPH manager, he said that only 2% of customers have complained since they switched from butter to margarine. This equates to the 98 customers out of 100 are happy with the change. Though it may make sense to some, we cannot confirm this numbers and percentage fallacy. Not every customer will complain or speak up and we can’t believe that the rest of 98 customers are happy with the new circumstances. Customers may be content or have no problem with margarine and others will just eat their food without a peep. Though it doesn’t necessarily equate or confirm their happiness with the restaurant’s new change. Customers, who remained unspoken, does provide leverage for the manager assume that the majority are satisfied with the butter substitute.

The business manager mentions that his servers have not seen many customers complain when given the alternative to butter. This assertion is extremely vague to a keen reader. Let’s think about this for a moment. A number of his serving employees have received little to no complaints, but are the customers notified that they will be receiving margarine and not butter? We know that the customers are getting margarine, though there is nothing that mentions the customers are aware of the change. Perhaps some of these customers only know that the product was margarine after tasting it and accepted the fact that there is no butter. Also, how many of these servers and how many customers are involved in these contexts? The manager uses ‘many’ and ‘a number of’ to validate his position and without the right details, we don’t know for certain.

Butter and margarine are conceptually used for similar things. It is both used for cooking, spreading, and making food rich. Though both products may look similar, they are also different in taste and texture. However, the HPH manager believes that his customers cannot tell the variance between the two. His based his assumption on the two-previous known contents: percentage of happy customers and little to no complaints to servers. Customers will not always complain if there is butter and they will be content with the substitute. They won’t fuss over something so miniscule and they understand this is a common trend in restaurants. There is not guarantee that it goes as far as to say that these customers don’t know the differences.

Butter and margarine can be used interchangeably in the restaurant world, but not all food places will have both. The Happy Pancake House manager made a change to only carry margarine and discontinue the use of butter. Based on several assumptions on few numbers and validations, the manager asserted that people don’t truly understand the distinction and use both terms synonymously in the food realm. Nonetheless, we cannot agree with the argument that has been made for several reasons that can be broken down into fallacies.