A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Currently, school curriculums are solely distinct based on their state. Each state provides their schools with requirements and standards that are to be met by their students. This is why there is a tremendous gap between states in regards to education. Just like how there is one president representing the nation, there should be a national curriculum across all states to ensure students are receiving a well-rounded and adequate education before moving onto college.

Primarily, a nation that requires the same curriculum to be taught ensures that their students in one state will not fall behind due to a variance in another state. For example, state A requires their high school students to take a concrete introductory engineering course while state B only requires a basic computer course. A state B student is falling behind a student in state A. This is a common occurrence happening across the nation; only some schools are able to adequately provide for their students academically. Through promoting a national coursework, students all over the country will have an opportunity to succeed without being limited.

Secondly, a strong national curriculum across the country will be favorable if students ever have to transfer schools. Every student will have the same foundation since kindergarten and they are better equipped to perform well even when moving to a different city or state. Due to family circumstances, students shouldn't face more challenges in the school setting as well. Having a unified curriculum still be less stressful for students in this situations. Not only do students benefit from this, but also for teachers and other academic professionals.

Teachers and academic professionals will have more opportunities to focus on the need of their students rather than what type of curriculum to develop each year or cycle. This will allow more research and studies to be conducted to see how students perform across the nation and what type of improvements can be implemented to help the future generations.

Though on the contrary, a national curriculum is not ideal because it molds children into one type of student. With the limitations, a national curriculum creates some problems within the school. Not all are created equal.

Even though a national curriculum is ideal in many cases to promote unity across the nation, there needs to be a strong foundation. Students are fragile beings and need the guidance of adults to succeed in life. It is the nation's job to develop an academic structure to promote the well-being and knowledge of their future generations.