The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Wintertime calls for heat through a variety of ways in order to stay warm and cozy. Traditionally, oil has been a prominent type of fuel for heating. However due to advancement in research and technology, oil is not always the first answer to kindle warmth. Consolidated Industries provided some just reasons on why oil heating is still eminent, but they did not include enough to conclude that oil is superior amongst all other types of heating choices.

Due to global warming and inconsistent whether changes, it cannot be assured the next winters will be just as cold as last years. The weather is slowly transitioning towards warming temperatures even during what should be the coldest season. The prediction made by whether forecasters are not always set in stone. Last week, the weatherman predicted showers all weekend and when the weekend came, there was a only a few drops of rain. If weather cannot be predicted only several days in advance, it’s difficult to confirm that years of prediction are accurate.

Recent population spurts do not signify consistent growth over long periods of time. Even though there will be new homes in this region, it is not guaranteed that every single house will be bought. There is also no assurance that there are enough people to fill these new homes. The firm is assuming that everyone can afford a brand new home, but that is not the cause in today’s economy. There will be new homes that are left unsold because people lack the income to succumb to a huge financial responsibility.

As time changes, so do people and their choices for heat substitutions during the cold winter. There are electric heaters, fireplaces, electrical blankets and water heaters, just to name a few. Many people might find heating oils dangerous or historic and tend to stray away from this product. The firm provided no data or research to confirm that oils are still the leading fuel for heat. Without the right information to support their claim, the firm is only stating what will benefit them most.

In a world filled with choices, everyone has their own preference on what to use to stay warm during the wintertime. Oil was once a leading fuel for heat, but may not still be the top choice for every home. The firm did not provide enough information to backup their belief that heating oil will be in high demand during this upcoming and next several winters.