College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

College is an entirely different from what we had experienced before during kindergarten to highschool. Pursuing higher education is a choice that will set the path for our future, however, college is a period of growth and learning who we are as individuals entering adulthood. Rather than pursuing a degree that promises a career, college students should be motivated to take classes that spark their interest.

Typically, college students pick a major that is related to their professional goals: English studies for a journalist, Chemistry for a lab scientist, Biology for a doctor, and Kinesiology for a physical therapist. But why should let our profession goals, that we decided on when we were 17 or 18, to dictate the courses we will take? The answer is simple, it shouldn’t matter. Regardless of what their professional goals are, students should have the choice to study subjects that interest them. By doing so, students will find themselves happier because they actually enjoy the material and are motivated to learn more. When a student decides on a major that is geared towards to who they are, they are more likely to do well in their courses and succeed in college. The student will not feel miserable or dread going to class every single day. It becomes more of a hobby than a task. I believe that students who choose a major that is best suited for them will be successful than someone who picked a major that will provide them a job.

By not selecting a major correlated directly to a job, students will have less pressure and stress throughout their college career. It is normal for students to feel overwhelmed at times because of the workload or rigorous course work. Students, who are studying subjects that they don’t enjoy, find themselves stuck in a rut and stressed out. Some students will push forward and some will linger behind, depending on what type of student they are. A student who selects courses based on their interest will accumulate less stress and pressure to do well. For example, Jack studies psychology because the subject has always intrigued him. Though his professional goals are clear yet, doing well during his undergraduate studies will help tremendously for his future goals. We all select majors unknowingly where our future self wants to be, we can change our minds and change our majors many times before we find the right one. But deciding to take courses because of a job isn’t always the best choice and can be detrimental to our academic career and self.

When we are passionate in our studies, we find ourselves reaching out to the world to share it with the world. The world can be our community, college campus, and families. Students, who study subjects of their interests, are more likely to be involved. They are not focused on having a career and instead, it is more about self-development. I started off studying biochemistry and it was miserable. I spent three years feeling stressed and unhappy because I selected a major that was best for my professional goals. I did poorly and only when I found something I was passionate about, I started doing much better. I became more involved in the community, my spirits were up, and my grades were much better.

Not everyone has a clear path in life, especially when they are 17 or 18 years old and starting college. It is best for college students to select courses that best peaks their interest rather than what will get them a job in the future. Though the degree may be considered useless to some, some students will have to spend more time pursuing another degree for a job. Everyone lives differently, studying subjects that are enjoyable will promote success, decrease stress, and encourage self-development overall.