The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Centuries ago, greatness was not acknowledged until the passing of an idiosyncratic individual. They were the minds beyond their time due to their knowledge, talent, or whatever particularly set of skills that they hold. Today, a person’s greatness is accounted by their contemporaries and even more so by those who will be living after them.

Way before the 20th century, there was a limited number of great individuals who were in the top of their field and they were only taken notice by few. After their death, these people were upheld to a different standard; it is comparable to a god due to their substantial capabilities. Their amazing abilities were nothing people have ever seen at the time and it was difficult for their contemporaries to note their skillfulness. As the familiar saying goes, ‘you don’t know what you have until it is gone’. It was not until the person passed on that people would take notice because of how great these individuals were. Considering the limited knowledge and perspectives at that time, this was the common occurrence. Though today, this is absolutely not always the case.

With the extent of knowledge, artfulness, talent, and more, today’s great individuals are praised diligently by their peers. There are standards that needs to be met before deciphering whether this person is mediocre or superior. We have the resources and information in order to give credit where it is deserving. Contemporaries are able to shine light on those are display amazing greatness in their area of expertise. Not only are they given attention while alive, but they are also praised after they pass away. Steve Jobs created Apple, the iPhone, Macbook, and Ipod. We praised him for what he has contributed to society, but his greatness reigns on even after his death. Today’s society gives these individuals the recognition they deserve.

In certain cases, this statement does apply to current times. Many of the acknowledgement of greatness that comes after death is due to heroic circumstances. Many of you should be familiar with such news about an officer or family member going out of their way to protect civilians or loved ones. Though they are probably good people before the tragedy, these people have been placed in a position of significance because of what had happened. Looking at cases in history, Beethoven and Picasso were innovators of their time for what they are able to contribute to society and arts. It is with certainty that historians, composers, and artists will say they are originals of their fields and not many can replicate their talent.

The statement is accountable in cases dated way back in history, during a time with limited resources and knowledge. Today’s society is a more prevalent time for contemporaries to acknowledge their counterparts of their greatness. Since there are standards to uphold and compare to, a person’s extreme talent, superiority knowledge, and so on can be given praise long before their passing.