People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There has been a dispute between acting upon emotion versus acting upon logic. Emotion and logic are two extremely complex bases of the thought process. Is one more justifiable than the other? Does one provide more reservation than the other? Decisions are not made equally. There are some flaws in the statement that emotional actions can be supported by logical reasons after.

Those, who make decisions base on emotion, are impulsive and uncontrollable. There was hardly any logic considered when they acted. A young college student decides to put off studying for an important exam due to the fact that it was her birthday. As it was her 21st birthday, she believed it was necessary for her to celebrate this milestone and have her first sip of alcohol. Because she did not fail her exam the following day, she stated that her celebration will be a momentous memory that will always be cherished. This may be an exaggeration, but many people can relate to this type of behavior thought process. Even though things worked out in her favor, it does not equate to her emotional based action to be properly accounted for logically. The college student made a poor choice as an adult.

There are other cases where this statement does not hold true. There are times in our lives when we have to make choices based on how we feel and what will provide the best outcome. Some people have a nitch that allows them to sense things better than others. There are times that we must use our senses to make emotions and it will make sense logically in the future. A student felt as though he couldn't continue on with his studies in pharmacy because the profession didn't fit his professional goals. He couldn't explain it beyond that because the career pays well and has good hours. Though others found him to be too picky at the time, he ended up pursuing a career that loves and will flourish in. He acted on emotions, but he was logically able to solidify his decision. Not all emotional choice make a person a poor decision maker.

Though this statement has some particularly solid standing that poor decision makers tend to use logic to hide their emotion choices, every circumstance is different. Some may have the statement may qualify for and others where it is exactly the opposite. We cannot hold everyone accountable and generalize them as poor decision makers.