“Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of local and weather news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news programs have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Making changes is a difficult decision because there is much uncertainty that lies ahead. After a change is in effect and the results are poor, many of the time people want to reverse back to before and how things were. A television station business manager made a change to increase more time dedicated to national less and therefore, reducing time allocated for weather and local news. As a result, there have been complaints from viewers and lost of advertisement contracts. The manager believes that in order to reverse this outcome, he must revert back to their our programming schedule. Though this sounds reasonable at first, there is a lack of warranted information that suggests this is the best solution to their newfound problems.

First off, there have been a series of complaints regarding the station's coverage of weather and local news. However, what is it about the weather and local news that these viewers are unhappy about? The business manager does not provide specific details as to how many are complaining and exactly what are they complaining about. The manner of which the manager states that 'most of the complaints' do not necessarily entail that there is a large number of complaints overall. There could be 10% of viewers that complained and 7% of that are regarding weather and local news coverage. This is a fact that could weaken the argument. If the business manager quoted a viewer mentioning how they are unsatisfied with the limited coverage on the local news, this would strengthen his argument as a concrete piece of evidence. The reader has to make assumptions because the manager is unclear.

Although all of the problems are occurring at the same time, the reader doesn't know if they all are caused by the same problem as suggested by the manager. Local businesses have canceled their advertisement contracts with the television station recently, but it could be that their businesses are thriving. Or perhaps, the business manager didn't bother to mention that they increased their advertising costs recently and local businesses cannot afford it anymore. These pieces of evidence would weaken the argument because all of these events are not a result of a single change.

Lastly, why did the station decide to increase their coverage on national news? Perhaps, there was a traumatic event that happened nationwide that required more coverage than local news. More detail about the circumstances of the time of change is needed to provide a comprehensive argument. There's nothing that undoubtingly points towards reversing the change to prevent the station from losing their viewers and revenues from business advertisement contracts.

The business manager's argument left the reader to make up assumptions due to his lack of evidence. There is an abundance of unanswered questions and details that have been left out that could have helped strengthen or weakened the argument. With the limited amount evidence, a reader cannot confirm their position to agree with the business manager to return to their old programming schedule.