The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument is based on the reasoning that the decreased allocated time for weather and local news has raised the complaints from its viewer and the cancellation of advertisment and that's why the manager decided to restore the time structure. But, it is equivocal that the complaints made from the viewers are whether for the decreased time or the content. Even if, we assume that the decresed time is the main reason for contention, how can we be sure that the previous stucture was the optimum one. Also, the cancellation from advertisement agency it clearly not related with the decresed time, rather its dependent upon the publicity of the channel.

First of all, quality of a content cannot be measured with time which means increased duration of weather and local news doesnt necessarily mean that it covers up all the important news. So, the recent complaints from the viewer cannot be importuned to the duration. For example, a tv channel covers up the local news of certain area and dedicates all the time to it. But, that channel is prone to bias and prejudice which is likely to incense the viewers who highly appreciate the neutral and unpassionate news. So, only allocating a greater amount of time will not spare the tv channel from its viewers contention.

Secondly, allocation of less time to weather and local time is quite an ambiguous term which makes the argument equivocal on the basis of the definition of the term "less". Its an comparative term and its abstuse at certain point as, if the amount of news regarding weather and local affairs are small in amount, allocating more time to is will not make any difference.

Finally, increasing the time for local and weather news wont help the tv channel from its decreasing popularity and so the cancellation of advertisement as the advertisements are meant for the potential customers from the viewers. Rather the tv channel should emphasize upon the quantity and quality of the local and weather news to regain its popularity.

As a conclusion, the tv channels improvement should focused more on the quality an quantity of their local and weather news instead of the time allocation to restore its popularity.