The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The manager of the television station states that since they are now more inclined to broadcast national news and have lessened the time for local news as well as weather news, they have been getting more complaints and losing contracts from local businesses. The manager, therefore, argues that in order to get the attention of more viewers and to ensure their advertising revenues, the station must increase the time devoted to local news and weather news to its original level. While this argument may seem very unimpeachable in the beginning, there are some important things the manager may have missed and did not account for during making the decision.

At first, it is more plausible that if the TV station allocates more time for national news program, they would eventually be attracting more viewers since people from all around the nation will be watching national news. Local news will be more likely to be viewed by the people around that particular locality and people from a far apart location will certainly not be interested to know what is going to with a different locality. In this scenario, the argument made by the manager lacks sufficient evidence and logic; broadcasting national news should increase the number of viewers rather than diminishing it. However, if the people of that locality are very much conservative which we cannot know from the manager's statement, and they might react furiously for the fact that their local news time is decreased, then maybe, local news and weather broadcasting time should not be narrowed down.

Secondly, the manager tells that because of decreasing the local news time, local businesses have withdrawn their advertising contracts. Therefore, restoring the duration of local news to original level should help them make up for the revenues they have been losing. However, when the station broadcasts national news, they will be able to grasp the attention of the national and even the multinational companies. It can be easily justified and argued that those companies will be offering more profitable contracts for the TV stations than the local businesses. As a result, even though the station will be losing local contracts, they will be receiving more and more lucrative contracts from the national and global businesses. And these contracts will eventually increase the profit margin of the TV station.

So, it can be stated with sufficient logic and reason that the argument posited by the manager lacks necessary information to consider it as the possible remedy of the problem the station is currently facing.