The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The argument deals with inculcating the idea of mutual assistance among the young generation of a nation to prepare them for taking crucial roles on the next stages of their lives. These significant roles consist of but are not limited to leading in the government, industry and other sectors of the nation. While cooperation is very much essential for the progress of an individual as human being is a social animal and thus cannot live a sequestered life, this mutual help will not have a strong ground when it comes to make the youth ready to lead the nation. That is to say, without giving them a field for competing with each other, it will be really difficult to prepare them, to bring out the best in them. Therefore, there should have scope for ample competition among these young individuals rather than cooperation.

As mentioned earlier, man is a social being. We cannot stay isolated and we are considered as the weakest when we are stranded from the society. In every step of our lives, we cannot stand longer avoiding the assistance from each other. In this scenario, it may seem cogent at first about the argument stated that cooperation is the best option to get the future generation ready for running the nation. However, when there is cooperation, all of these young fledglings will not be participating in doing their duties properly. There will be glimpse of not few but many young ones who will be malingering their responsibilities because they will be bearing the idea that they will eventually get help from others or others will complete their work. For example, we often see around us that in a group there are some who does not do their work diligently and there are also some who not only perform their portion but also have to complete the unfinished tasks of others. So, when there is the existence of cooperation, lethargic people will try to extricate themselvs by encumbering their burden on the assiduos ones.

Moreover, we should also be bringing out and clarifying the necessity of competition. Competition has been there for a long time in our society and its sognificance lies in the fact that it can elicit the best among the best. When these young people are held in a competitive environment, they will try heart and soul to execute their duties efficiently. As a result, it will be much easier to figure out the best individuals who are the most worthy ones to take the leadership role, to act as the lodestar and usher in the most crucial positions of a nation. Their performance can be judged, their best efforts can be measured in an atmosphere where there is competition among them.

Last but not the least, a competitive place can make an indolent person very much aware and responsive. They will know that they are being observed for their performance. Each and every one of them will then work hard. Besides, this kind of atmosphere will be sufficient in choosing the leader naturally. It would not be a conundrum in selecting the most appropriate ones.

In a nutshell, for the roles that mean much for a nation and for an institution, thre should be the most efficient and conscientious young people participating in these roles. And these sort of people can only be chosen in the most appropriate way by passing them through an atmosphere where they have to compete against each other.