People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might

not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is known to everybody that human being is a social being. Since the inception of mankind, men have been living together in groups for their mutual benefits. While living in a group or a society, it is likely for the humans to get influenced by others. However, this level of influence can be considerable up to a certain limit because it is ultimately the individuals who get to make any decision about themselves no matter how impactful the influence of others are.

People always get to choose which way to proceed in their life even after the presence of persuasion and encouragement for choosing a particular position. For instance, there are many students studying in a same class of a particular institution. The first and second student may be willing to develop their career as scientists or researchers. Undoubtedly, these two students are considered as the best by the teachers, other students and even by the parents also. It may seem, therefore, that the remaining students will also want to pursue their future career working in similar fields. However, that does not seem to happen. Even after being surrounded by such strong influence from outside, most of the students will not be cajoled to be like them.

Again, let’s consider the example of rules that one has to follow living in a society. In a certain society, it may be strictly prohibited to smoke outside in the public places. The people living in that society will continue to abide by this and may not break the rules. Nevertheless, his inner self cannot be suppressed. That same individual may start smoking as soon as he gets to a different society. In this case, the person is so inveterate that he cannot restrain himself from doing what he wants. While living in a nation, there are certain things for which punitive measures are taken. Yet there are many offenders who do quite the opposite even after knowing the stated rules clearly. Just like the earlier case, the inner choice of that individual dominates his actions.

It is however true that up to certain age, people are more influenced by the behavior of others than their own. For example, in a family, a younger child's behavior can be very much similar to the behavior of the older child. But, as they get mature, the younger one will not be like the older one any more.

Do all people living in an environment full of criminals and reprobates end up being rogues themselves? Surely, the answer is a negative. No matter how much people are bound by laws, assuaged by others or influenced by the environments, they are the ones who make their own decisions. They may choose to comply with others or may totally do the reverse. So, it is not wise and correct to say that humans are most influenced by the forces in their surroundings.