'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memorandum from the business manager of a television station, the manager identifies that there is a decline in their viewer over the years which is attributed to less coverage of weather and the local news. The television station also encountered a revenue loss lately. For these reasons, the manager suggests that time devoted to weather and local news should be restored back to the former level. However, before these evaluations could hold true three questions must be answered.

First of all, is the timing of the program appropriate for all the people? The timing of a program plays an important role in the number of viewers. Take, for example, Office going people tend to sleep early in the night. So the late-night programs may not be of any use to them. Rather they will devote their time to the programs which are not shown on late-night. This could be the reason for fewer viewers in the late-night programs.

Secondly, Is the choices of different people same? People want to see their favorite programs being telecasted on the television. For instance, some people are more concerned about the local problems in their area compared to the national problem on a whole. Consequently, they will lose interest if less heed is given to these matters. If this reason is true, then the recommendation does not hold water.

Finally, If the time devoted to the weather and local news were brought back to the former level they will increase revenue was based on assumptions of the manager. There was no evidence that this reformation of programs would bring back the audiences. The audience may use their smartphones for weather news rather than using television programs. If this reasoning might be true, then this recommendation is seriously flawed.

So before these recommendations could be held true some questions need to be answered associated with the timing, number of viewers and alternative of televisions available to the viewers rather than the television.