The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company, the director has observed a declining trend in the amount of viewership in the last year. Though the positive reviews about these movies have been increased lately. For this very reason, the director recommended a larger allocation of their budget for public advertisement. Before taking these recommendations for granted, three questions must be answered.

First of all, the report gives us information about the last few years. Surprisingly, only last year viewership has been decreased compared to the former years. In this scenario, there may be another factor rather than public awareness. For example, the income of the people in that region may be decreasing because of national budget cutbacks. Consequently, people are more reluctant in spending up their money on watching movies. Rather they spend it for daily commodities. If this reason has some merit, then the recommendation for public awareness would not be fruitful.

Secondly, Are there any other forms of entertainment available that are cheaper than the super screen movies? For instance, people may have found a better alternative to super screen movies at a cheaper rate. They may be more attracted to CD/ DVD or watching pirated movies for saving up their money. If this is the reason behind their reluctance to attend super screen movies then the recommendation does not hold water.

Finally, there is no clear evidence on which platforms movie reviewers review is published. For example, if the review is published on some random sites which are overlooked by the users generally then they have no idea about the contents of the movie. A systematic research should be conducted to gain idea about the specific sites on which public looks for movie reviews generally. Otherwise, the recommendation will be seriously flawed based on just a single assumption.

To sum up, before the recommendation to be evaluated some systematic research about the people's preferences, other forms of entertainment and their budget should be conducted to be more obvious about its success.