The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that due to the increased devoted time to national news and less time to weather and local news, has caused a lose in advertisement by and discomfort among people seems plausibe at first glance. However, on analysing the author's argument more critically results in a various flaws and assumptions, due to which his argument seems tenuous.

The primary issue lie in his premises that the author makes. The author claims that in the late-night news program they have increased the devoted time to national news and less time to weather and local news, but he fails to give the exact number by which they have incresed the devoted time to national news. It can be possible that the increased time is so nugatory that it is not worth considering. The author's argument scope is not clear here, his argument can be made robust if he mention the exact number by which they have increased the devoted time to national news.

Alao, the author fails to give link between the cancellation of advertisement by local people and the less time devoted to the weather and local news in the late-night news program. The reason for cancellation is not clear, it can be possible that the local business is getting affected by economy change and due to which they decided to cancel their advertisement. The author's argument would have been strengthen, if the author would have given more substantial evidentiary support.

In sum, the author cannot simply aver that the cancellation in their advertisement is due to the less time devoted to the weather and local news in the late-night news program. There might be myriad of factor which might be affecting the cancellation. In order to strengthen his argumenth author have to largely reconstruct the argument, fix the flaws in the premises and clearly remove the assumptions.