'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the mentioned memorandum, the author states that by restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level the revenue will stop declining and the number of complaints will also drop.In this there are many assumptions taken in to consideration and if any one of it proves wrong than it will prove the statement wrong.

Firstly, the author has assumed that the complaints received about the weather and local news were about the less time provided to them , it may or may not be that case. there may be a instance that the complain is about the quality of news , incorrect news provided to the people or also about the news reporter. Assuming that people want more local news is wrong without any concrete results to support this claim.

The second assumption made by the author is about local business cancelling the contract due to less time devoted to local news and weather but the reality might be quite different there may be issue with contract or high rates demanded by the channel or the other channels providing competitive rates to advertisers that's why they are bailing. To analyse the advertiser's problem a detailed study is required about the advertiser's containing their reason for cancellation , any issues related to channel management or other competitors rates. these are the questions which should be answered first before coming to the conclusion.

It may also be that case that if the data taken into consideration before making the memorandum predicts that people are more interested in local news than listening to national news than this strengthen's the argument about bringing back local news.

So, by considering above mentioned assumptions taken by the author about people interest in local news and advertiser's bailing more data is needed to come to decision and assuming any data would not be a good business move by the television station.