The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Competition is healthy for the development of the person, through competition on;y a person can get to know whether the person is ready for real world to face challenges.Cooperation in it's meaning is working together, it promotes team building. I think that the Author's claim that to prepare for leadership one should focus on coöperation not competition is wrong , to be a good leader you should have both the qualities cooperation and competitiveness.

If we take an example of Steve Jobs, the most renowned person in technical world and a successful CEO. He was the person who introduced the concept of iPhone to the world and today the company is renowned for the quality of it's products and innovations it brings with each new product launch and,if he was not competitive some other company would have gone ahead of apple in manufacturing that product or that concept may never had seen light. This shows us that competitiveness is as important as coöperation.

Today a leader in the industry has to face competition from many other corporates and there is competitiveness within his own company, in government also to get elected the person has to fight the election with other competitors and win it. There is a great example of competition in government the "presidential election", the candidates have to compete against each other to win the election and to prove that they are capable of sitting in the office. If the competitiveness is not present in the candidate he will lag behind the others and it may cost him the election.

Secondly, to prove that competition and corporation is important for leaders we will look into the example of Sports, the captain of a team has to make his team competitive to win the match and also he has to show cooperation in working with his teammates so that the team will perform better. Sports is very good example of cooperation and competitiveness in a equal way.

Some may argue that competition destroys the ability of person to do better, the leader may not be able to work in his full potential if he thinks of competition, there may be cases where this may be true like the Head of R&D department of a company here the person has to show his cooperation skills because this field demands innovations and result not competition, it can be achieved through working together but there may be a cse where other company's R&D dempartment also working on same product launced before them in market this is a setback for them, so with cooperation a sense of competitivenss is aslo needed for a leeader to become successfull.

To sum up, the above examples and arguments presented to make my claim and also considering the challenges presented against it we can conclude that a successfull leader not only should have quality of cooperation but also of competition.