A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer.

According to the author, there should be a national curriculum until students enter college, I strongly agree to the authors' suggestion that a national curriculum is a need of the hour as there are students who belong to various states and background and having a unified curriculum will offer an equal field to all the students.

Having a same curriculum not only benefits the students but it also removes the discrepancy among the students of the same grade as they will be able to compete equally. If we take an example of India, a country of 28 states and all the states have their own board so a student studying in grade 12 of a particular state learns different things from the students of other states of same grade and if they have to apply for college then the college will consider the application of student whose curriculum is better, this puts a restrain on the opportunities of the student.

Secondly, not having a national curriculum also hinders the opportunities of the parents as if they get an option to change the state for better job offering, they will have to first check if that states curriculum matches their current son/daughter's school curriculum. This restricts the opportunities of the parents.

There is an excellent example of successful implementation of national curriculum by Govt. of India, they started a national board called CBSE which provides same curriculum throughout the country, post implementation there are more students studying in the CBSE schools than their individual board's school. This was much-needed relief to parents as well as student's as it removed barrier to the education system and provided a national solution.

Some may argue that having a national curriculum will take away the individual state's cultural and historic identity that they have established it in their books, but this issue can be solved by changing some chapter's related to the culture and history of that particular state, buy maintaining the core curriculum related to Science and Mathematics.

To sum up, by analysing the example of India of their successful implementation and problem faced by students across the nation it is better suited if the students of particular nation study the same curriculum as it will remove all the barriers and give every student an equal opportunity to prove his skills.