The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author claims here that late night news should devote much more time to weather and local news than national news. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To justify this recommendation, the author reasons that late complaints received from the viewers at late night was related to not covering weather and local news. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s recommendation. Hence the argument can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that all the complaints received at the television station at late-night was related to the lack of coverage of weather and local news. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground.

For example, what if some viewers were not able to properly view the broadcast from the television station at late-night? Hence the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated that what number or percentage of complaints were related to the coverage of national news and the lack of weather and local news.

The author also points out that local businesses that usually advertised their products have cancelled their advertising contracts. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between the cancellation of contracts with the lack of weather and local news coverage. To illustrate further, what if the local businesses are going through a recession which forced them to cut the advertising cost? What if the advertisements of products in the late-night news have low impact on their respective sales achieved by the local businesses? What if the local businesses have found other television stations where they can advertise their products cheaply than this television station? If the argument had provided evidence that the local businesses have cancelled the advertising contracts because of the absence of weather and local news in late-night news program then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author notes that to increase the advertising revenues and to attract more viewers, weather and local news should be restored to their former level of devoted time slot. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion in several critical respects, and raises several skeptical questions. For example, What if the weather and local news have no impact on the loss of advertising revenues? What if the local business have quit the contract with the television stations and found cheaper alternative to advertise their products such as flyers, billboards etc? What if the complaints received at the late-night news period were for technical issues faced by viewers? Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide clear and more concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a reliable survey from the viewers and from the local businesses authorities about their views on the absence of weather and local news from late-night news program. Finally, to better evaluate the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about why the viewers were complaining and the reasons behind the cancellation of advertising contracts.