The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

First and foremost, it is important to find out why the TV station has decided to increase the coverage of national news in its late-night show and not any other time of the day. People who have keen interests in such matters might both prefer the news broadcast during other hours, like morning or evening, and not be available at the late-night hours to pursue the news.

Similarly, it would be necessary to correlate the viewer complaints with their interests and backgrounds and analyze it on a whole with the entire viewer base to see what proportion of the viewers are actually concerned with the type of news covered and at what time. A suitably designed survey to identify interests of the viewers and the time of their availability for the same would help the company to make more informed decisions and organize their programs accordingly.

Moreover, it is also not clear what issues are covered in the national news. Is it about sports? Or does it cover the economics of the state? Or does it seek to inform the viewers about the standing of the nation on the international front? These key areas might help in narrowing down the best subject matter to be discussed in the late-night show.

Also, as worded in the memorandum, it is really ambiguous whether the complaints are about the reduced coverage of the local and weather news or the viewers want the aforesaid coverage to be minimized further. Categorizing the complaints in different domains will be able to better tackle the issue, by identifying the specific problems faced with the recent overhaul.

Besides, it has also not been made clear by the company or the local businesses as to why the latter have cancelled their contracts with the former. The company should identify their concerns and ask them their specific requirements which might be made part of the contract(s).

Thus, overall it can be said that the company has taken a haphazard decision to revamp its previous news program without taking into consideration the needs and interests of the stakeholders involved, including the advertising partners and the consumers (i.e., the viewers). A proper and comprehensive survey to take into account the expectations of the viewers along with a discussion with the advertising partners to note their terms of operation are needed to ensure more revenues and a better viewer base.