A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The same national curriculum would serve to ensure a uniform educational background of the students before they move on to specialization in the college courses they take. It would also put the students on a comparable pedestal for the colleges to screen the students for respective courses.

To begin with, in my opinion, everybody should be edified with a minimum requisite of basic sciences, social sciences, language comprehension and life skills. The presence of a uniform curriculum, thus, will enable the students to understand and assimilate concepts and ideas they are likely to encounter in their everyday lives. The worsening situation of the climate in the present scenario, the national GDP and economics affecting our lives and the goal of sustainable development are few of the contemporary issues that a person would be able to comprehend and appreciate more with the basic understanding of these subjects.

Moreover, every now and then, there can arise a conflict of interest between the learned community in a specified subject area and other communities with different shared interests. In that case, the formative imparting of knowledge of each others' subject areas would be able to empower both to take more informed decisions and put up better logical arguments.

Additionally, the same educational background would make it fairer for the students and easier for the college committees to screen different applicants for any particular course. Like, in some colleges, there is the requirement of over-compensation for students whose educational background is different from the one being applied to. This undermines their excellence in the field in which they have graduated.

However, trying to conform all the students to the same curriculum can again pose the problem of suppressing their individuality and overlooking their talents. This issue can be resolved with the introduction of suitable extra-curriculars and electives which each student can select of his/her own and the same can be evaluated in their applications to college.

Thus, it is in the best interest of all the stakeholders in the development of the nation to impart same education to the students and let the specialization come into picture once they approach for graduation.