The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

It may not helpful to attract more viewers to their program and to avoid losing advertising revenues by restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. Because the author has made some mistakes in the logic of this article. Here I'll list some of the mistakes.

First, the author said most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with their station's coverage of weather and local news. However, he didn't say a word about the total number of complaints they received, and what if they just received 3 complaints and two of them are about the coverage? Maybe these viewers are just wanting to complain there are too much advertisement in the program which have no relationship with the quality of programs itself? the proportion doesn't make any sense when samples are too little. As a result, the reason is not credible enough.

Second, the author mentioned the local business that used to advertise during late-night news program have just canceled their advertising with them. The author didn't write the reason why the businesses have canceled their advertising, and what if it's just because these local businesses has just run out money so that they didn't have any money to buy their advertising business? And what if the local business just finds some other ways of advertising like billboard? The author didn't say a word about the reason but just said local business canceled their advertising. Maybe there is no relationship between advertising and station's coverage of programs.