The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given argument states that the television station had received many complaints for decreasing the time for local and weather news in late-night news program. Further, because of these complaints the local advertising company had canced the contract with the station which reduced the revenue of the station. In the conclusion it states that the station is going to increase the news timing for local news and weather to increase the viewers and revenue from the advertising the company. It is understood from the argument that there are many missing evidents which need to address to strengthen the agrument. The station manager should analyse the number complaints received against the total population in that area. Further, the decrease in the viewers would be poor new reading ability of the staff. Also, the advertising time between the news might make the people change the news if the advertisement last for long. Therefore, these evidents need to be assessed or included in the argument to strengthen it.

The first evident which need to analyse is that the number of registered complaint against the population. What if the complaint is very less compared to the population? In that case most of the peole had agreed or liked the change in the new program. Therefore, further change in the news program would loose more than what is there now. Therefore, analysing the complaints is very important. Further, it is important to go to the individula who have complained to get to know the real issues. Because written complaints might not convey properly.

The second evident which need explanation is the reasonf for the decrease in the viweres. Whether the decrease is due to the change in news program or the poor reading ability of the staff. It is human tendency that, if they concentrate one particular thing in long time they loose concentration. In the present case, the national news time has increased which means the reader has to concentrate more time in one particular thing without interval which made him tired. It might be the reason for the poor delevary of the news. Additional trainning to the news reader would make effective in reading and might increase the viweres.

The third evident is that the advertisement time during the news. It is people tendency to change the channel if they forced to see long advertisements. Therefore, the advertisement time between the news had to be checked and if it is found more then that has to be reduced. Further, the station experiment the change in news program in day time to see the same response. If there is no reduction in the viweres, there it is sure that the reduction in viewers in late-night news program is not primarily due to the change in the program. Perhaps due to the aforementioned issues.

The argument need to include many evidences such as quantity of the complaint, conformation of the complaint inperson with the people, ability of the news reader, and advertisement time inbetween news. Then the argument would look like solid memorandum.