The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

In the memorandum of business manager of WLSS television, the manager is proposing to expand the coverage of weather and local news in the late night program and reduce the coverage of national news. He is proposing so because according to him they are getting more complaints from viewers in late news program in which news coverage of local news and weather forecasting is low and advertising agencies cancelled their contract of advertisement on same news channel. Here, manager’s conclusion to satisfy the viewer and attract advertising firm is lack of evidence. Before any conclusion he should be analyze more data and fact and provide sufficient evidence to prove his statement. There are some flaws in his statement we will discuss in following paragraphs, if manager will be focus more on these points then it will strengthen his assumption.

First aspect to deserve the evidence is, as manager is stating an argument that they are getting more complaints from viewer in late night news program where coverage of local news and weather forecasting is low. Manager should be focus on type of complaints whether complaints regarding the shorten the length of desired news or about the genuineness of the news, may be the viewers find the ambiguity about the broadcasted news about the weather or local events. If this is the scenario, then increase the forecasting of suggested news will not give positive response. In addition, viewer may be complaint about the overall length of the program, as it is late night program they want it to be short and brief. To overcome this issue manager need to thoroughly check the type of complaints.

Moreover, prior to draw any conclusion the manager should cite a wide range of survey regarding the anchor who reads news in late night program. There may be the possibility people would not able to understand his way of reading the news. If this is the scenario, manager need to replace the anchor instead of lengthen the local news and weather forecasting.

Secondly, the manager assuming that advertising company is cancelling their contract of advertisement due to the complaints about late night news program is full of rife and refute. The statement of manager is lacking of evidence which can strengthen his assumption. There is several question need to answer prior to draw any conclusion. The manager need to fix a meeting with the sales and marketing representative of the advertising company as they knew more about the current market and choice of viewer. There may be the situation that the target audience of advertising firm is having different choice. For example if the product related to cosmetics, then advertising firm need to target a forecasting channel which have more emphasis on fashion news and fashion shows rather than any news program. Moreover, there may be the situation the advertising firm may choose some another mode of advertisement like pamphlets and banners. If this is the scenario, then chancing the schedule of news will not give desired response instead of this television company need to encourage them towards the advertisement through TV channels.

In conclusion, I would like to say that the assumption of manager will be strengthening if he will provide the evidence to proof his conclusion. He should provide the result of survey about the type of news viewers wanted and the strategy of advertising firm what they are following.