The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Peter Jones.

“In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Peter

Jones plans to build a multi-million-dollar subway system. The subway will run

through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only

form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about

inconsistent buses and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally,

the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less

time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Peter Jones expects to see an immediate increase in

worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the

implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Here the author states, the traffic jam hamper the productivity of worker and thus frustrate the economy of Briggsville. Building the subway system through the major downtown where bus is the only transportation system, will solve the traffic jam and increase the productivity of worker.

Here the mayor of the city said, the only transportation way in downtown where it will be build. But if the traffic jam occurred within the city, then it won’t solve the problem. Because it is indeed need in within the city, not the downtown. So argument in this regard is flawed and doesn’t improve the economy.

Secondly, People of the city complaining about the inconsistent of buses and the safety. So the mayor should increase the safety of the bus where people are riding. Building the subway won’t ameliorate the safety and the inconsistencies. Rather the mayor should focus on building the new safety major and do something that is more convenient for the people of the city. So building the subway won’t help to rise the economy.

The existing road is also running twenty-four hours. The city is facing problems in a certain time of the day and night. If this happen then building subway and running for twenty-four hours won’t solve the traffic congestion. Rather the Mayor should build something which will solve the particular time problem as well as the whole problem.

If the people are so lazy that they won’t want to work so much. And they like to entertain themselves then solving these problem won’t improve the economy at all. Rather it will be multi-million-dollar wasting. If the motorist won’t be punctual, then they will be always being late whether traffic happen or not.

So the author is not so much persuasive in making the argument flawless. In various several cases, it is vulnerable.