The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

In the presented argument, the city mayor wants to build multi-million doller subway system to decrease traffic congestion in the city. According to argument buses serve in the city as the only form of public transportation, and residents complain about inconsistant buses and lack of safty during bus riding. As per plan, subway will run 24 hours, in this way residents will spend less time in traffic, which will increase their productivity at work and this will improve Briggsville's economy. This argument is based in certain assumptions, which if comes true will strengthen the argument or if comes false will weaken the argument.

Argument assumes that buses doesn't operate in the city for twenty four hours. There is no information given in the argument whether buses are running 24 hours or not. It is possible that buses are running in the city for 24 hours. If it is true then spending multi-million doller on subway system may not be worth.

Author assumes that, people in Briggsville city wants to use public transport to go to work. If this assumption is true, then putting subway system will go another way of public trasportation to people. What if people like to use their personal transportation means to go to work, and they find it more convienient? Then even if new subway system is there, people might not use it. To answer this question, auther needs to conduct a survey to understand that new subway system is actually a need in the city.

Another assumption is that, by building subway system will decrease traffic time for residents and it will increase their work productivity, due to which economy of Briggsville will improve. If this assumption comes false, new subway system might decrease traffic time, but it may or may not increase productivity. It could happen also city residents use their time saved from traffic for fun activies or spending more time with family instead of working more, then this may not have any effect on economy.

Thus, in conclusion, author need to collect more data and conduct analysis to know wheather subway system actually needed in the city or not.