The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memorandum from the president of Humana University states that, in order to soar the enrollment and solve the budget deficit at Humana University, they should promote the online degree programs like that at Omni. However before these assumption is accepted three of the questions must be answered.

Firstly, the author has not mentioned any evidence suggesting that the Humana University is well prepared as Omni and the infrastructure for the online programs are present. It could be that the Omni University only takes the online classes. As a result they are better prepared for the classes. Also, there are no information that shows how will the Humanan university take their steps in running and maintaining the online classes.

Secondly, there is no evidence presented in the memorandum giving us the information about the expenditure of the Omni University. It may be that the cost of maintenance of the internet and PC are higher than that of the maintenance of the building: as they require the trained professional to look after such field.

Lastly, there is no lucid information that gives information about the courses that are taught in Humana University and Omni University. It may be that the students prefer the courses that are offered by the Omni are highly likely to help them get a job and better life in future. Also, there is no information about the type of students that are enrolled in omni. As course could have been structured such that the far-distance students that out of the states and in different states are targated.

In conclusion, the recommendation as it is presented has many flaws in it because of its reliance on the unwarranted assumption. If author could provide answers to the above queries the reliance on the assumption could be evaluated.